Presidential Poll: PMB Coasting To Victory In Style

The stage for Buhari's victory was set by Ekiti State where the incumbent president defeated Atiku, followed by Ogun, Osun, and Lagos States.

The results of last Saturday’s presidential election so far released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) have shown President Muhammadu Buhari winning all the way.

The results, which have been collated and announced by INEC at its National Collation Centre in Abuja, put Buhari, the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential candidate ahead of his main rival, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), with a wide margin.

However, the opposition PDP has rejected collation of the results over allegations of irregularities. Whether from states in the Southwest, Northeast, Northwest, or North Central geo-political zones, Buhari won with huge votes.

The stage for Buhari’s victory was set by Ekiti State where the incumbent president defeated Atiku, followed by Ogun, Osun, and Lagos States. But Atiku halted Buhari’s smooth run in the Southwest when he came top in Ondo and Oyo States where results have already been declared by INEC at the collation centre. He has also won in Abia, Enugu, Ebonyi and Akwa Ibom States. Buhari however repeated the feat in Kwara, Kogi, Niger, Nasarawa States while Atiku stepped in winning in Benue and Plateau States in the North Central zone and Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The president also fared better in the Northeast zone as he floored Atiku in Borno, Yobe, Gombe except in Adamawa State where the PDP candidate held sway. Before INEC shut down the National Collation Centre yesterday evening to resume later at 10pm, Buhari had won seven of the 10 states’ results announced by INEC to Atiku’s three states and the FCT. The results are announced by INEC as they arrived in Abuja from the states. The details of the collated results showed that Buhari won in Yobe with 497,914 votes while Atiku got 50,763. In Ondo State, the president lost to Atiku, scoring 241,769 to the PDP candidate’s 275,901 votes.

For Abia State, the president received 85,058 votes while Atiku won the state with 219,698 votes. Buhari won Gombe State with 402,961 votes as against Atiku’s 138,484 votes. The president also defeated Atiku in Kogi State with 285,894 votes to the latter’s 218,207. In Kaduna State, Buhari won the contest with 993,482 while Atiku received 613,318. INEC however named Atiku the winner of the poll in Oyo and Enugu States. In Enugu, Atiku got 355,553 votes to Buhari’s 54,423 while in Oyo, Atiku scored 366,592 to Buhari’s 365,229. The results of Kogi was protested by PDP representative, Mr.Osita Chidoka, who said that there was an earlier agreement that the results of Dekina local government area should not to be included because of the violence that broke out in the council, even as he expressed shock that the figures were in the final result sheet. In Kwara State, Buhari polled 308,984 while Atiku had 138,184.

The situation was not different in Nasarawa State as Buhari got 289,903 and Atiku polled 283,847. In the FCT, Buhari lost to Atiku with 152,224 to 259,997 votes. The president emerged winner in Ekiti State with 219,231 votes while Atiku garnered 154,032. Also in Osun State, Buhari won with 347,634 votes to Atiku’s 337,377.

During the presentation of the results, INEC chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu asked the collation officer for Ondo State, Kayode Shoremekun, the vice chancellor of the Federal University, Ado Ekiti, to go back and reorganise himself. He had issues reconciling certain figures. Meanwhile, At INEC headquarters in Jos, Plateau State, the commission said that Atiku won the presidential election in the state with 530,334 votes to Buhari’s 470,538 votes. The collation officer, Prof. Anande Richard Kimbir, vice chancellor, University of Agriculture, Makurdi said that 93,000 votes were cancelled in Kabong, Tudun Wada due to over voting and other irregularities.

Atiku won 11 councils of Mikang, Kanke, Pankshin, Langtang South, Jos South, Riyom, Bokkos, Langtang North, Barkin Ladi, Mangu, Riyom and Bassa. Buhari however swept Jos East, Qua’an Pan, Shendam, Wase, Kanam and Jos North. The details of the result from Lagos State showed that Buhari won in 15 of the 20 councils with a margin of 132,798 votes. INEC chief collation officer, Prof. Felix Salako, said yesterday that Buhari received 580,825 votes to beat Atiku, who got 448,015 votes in keenly contested election. While Buhari won in 15 LGAs, Atiku topped in five councils.

Salako said the number of registered voters stood at 6,313,507, accredited voters 1, 096,490, total valid votes 1,089,567, total vote cast 1,156,590, while the rejected votes 67,023. It would be recalled that Buhari won the state in 2015 with a margin of 160,143 votes to defeat former President Goodluck Jonathan. Buhari then polled 792,460 votes while Jonathan got 632,327.

Also, Buhari trumped Atiku in Gombe State. Announcing the result yesterday afternoon in Gombe, the returning officer for the presidential election in the state, Prof. Mohammed Kyari, from Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola said that Buhari won convincingly in nine of the 11 councils of Akko, Balanga, Kaltungo, Gombe, Dukku, Nafada, Kwami, Yamaltu-Deba and Funakaye while Atiku won in Billiri and Shongom LGAs. Kyari said that 604,340 voters were accredited but only 554,203 votes were valid while 26,486 votes were invalid. In Nasarawa State, the returning officer, Prof. Azubuike Nwankwo, said that Buhari polled 289, 903 votes to defeat Atiku, who scored 283,847 votes.

The result showed that Buhari won in eight of the 13 local government areas while Atiku clinched five. Nwankwo said that 613,720 voters were accredited, while the total votes cast in the presidential election stood at 599,399. He said that the total number of valid votes was 580,778, while 18,621 votes were rejected. In Ogun State, the collation officer, Prof. Joseph Adeola-Fuwape, said that Buhari polled 281,762 votes to defeat Atiku with 194, 655 votes. He explained that the total number of registered voters in Ogun stood at 2,336,887, of which 613, 397 voters were accredited. Adeola-Fuwape said that the total number of votes cast stood at 605,938, of which the valid votes were 564, 256 and 41,682 were rejected.

A breakdown of the total votes pulled by Buhari indicated that he won in 14 of the 20 local government areas of the state while Atiku won in six local government areas. INEC resident electoral commissioner (REC) in Ogun, Prof. Abdulganiyu Raji, said the commission officials in Ijebu East were forced to cancel the election results in the entire Ajebamdele Ward where malpractices was discovered at Polling Unit 06. INEC also declared Buhari winner of the election in Jigawa State.

The commission’s chief returning officer in the state, Prof. Abdullahi Abdu Zuru, said that Buhari scored 794,738 votes while Atiku got 289,895 votes.

The presidential collation officer for Adamawa State, Prof Andrew Haruna announced that Buhari who scored 378,074 votes was defeated by Atiku’s 410,266 votes. Haruna said that the total number of registered voters for the presidential polls were 1,959,322 and accredited voters were 8,74920.
Presidential Poll: PMB Coasting To Victory In Style Presidential Poll: PMB Coasting To Victory In Style Reviewed by Mc Ebisco on February 26, 2019 Rating: 5

No comments:

NewsOnPoint is your news, entertainment, music, fashion website. We provide you with the latest breaking news, photos and videos straight in real time.

Want to reach your target audience? Then advertise with us to reach our thousands of daily readers.

Call 07032341798 for advert placement. Want to share your stories with us or make other inquiries? Then send us an email
Contact us:

Powered by Blogger.